Government set to restore wetland boundaries in 20 districts

According to the New Vision (newspapers) 13th Feb 2018, the Ministry of Water and environment has revealed that government is embarking on wetland restoration at eight wetland drainage basins covering 20 districts across the country. The eight wetland basins include Albert Nile, Victoria Nile, Achwa, Kidepo, Lakes Albert, Edward, Kyoga and Victoria in Mbale, Pallisa, Kibuku, Kaliro, Namutumba, Tororo,Budaka, Ngora, and Butaleja in Eastern Uganda. Other Districts are Kisoro, Kabale, Rukungiri, Kanungu, Mitooma, Bushenyi, and Ntungamo. According to Collins Oloya,the commissioner in charge of wetland management at the water ministry, wetlands have been affected by human activities such as agriculture. Readmore

Terms of Reference



Upcoming Events

On-going Activities

  1. UNDP Wetland Restoration project: Conduct no-regret livelihood alternative survey in the three districts of Bushenyi, Mitooma and Sheema to inform appropriate pilot interventions support, will be conducted on 10th-14th /09/ 2018.
  2. UNDP Wetland Restoration project: Hold a validation workshop in Sheema district on 14th/09/2018.
  3. Thematic Working Group Meetings on 11th-13th/09/2018.